3/15(Tue) Attractiveness Does Affect Scores... (Host:Kooper)

Kooper
YOYO member
文章: 2728
註冊時間: 週三 4月 11, 2007 11:40 pm

3/15(Tue) Attractiveness Does Affect Scores... (Host:Kooper)

文章 Kooper »

Pretty Girls Get Better Grades: Attractiveness Does Affect Women’s Scores — But Not Men’s
A new study shows this bias comes from both male and female instructors, too. (source: ALTERNET http://www.alternet.org/gender/pretty-g ... s-not-mens)

I pulled many all-nighters in college and graduate school. Long hours, with little to no sleep became my lifestyle, and I’d wake up each morning, do my best to look presentable, and do it all over again. I was an academic overachiever, and would rather lose sleep than lose face when it came to my grades. I did my best to make it look easy, turning in seminar papers in sundresses then strolling away as if I hadn’t spent the last three days obsessing over sentence structure and research. I graduated with honors, and was proud to achieve academic success.

But a new study sheds light on an ugly truth when it comes to women’s academic performance. According to research presented at the American Economic Association yesterday, attractive women get better grades not due to higher intelligence, but professor bias. If men aren’t dating us because we’re too smart for our own good, then we’re making the grade for expertly applying mascara. The study’s researchers used a sample of more than 5,000 students and more than 100,000 grades and found that physical attractiveness affects the grades of women, not men.