2/16(Sat) What makes a good painting? (Host: Catherine)

回覆文章
Catherine
YOYO member
文章: 31
註冊時間: 週日 2月 22, 2015 10:09 pm

2/16(Sat) What makes a good painting? (Host: Catherine)

文章 Catherine »

What Makes a Good Painting?
Dear Yoyoers:
I always wanted to talk about art even though it seemed to be an unpopular subject. While visiting the famous museum, like the Louvre, or the British Museum, the Metropolitan, the various forms of artistic presentation and the rich cultural contents behind each painting always fascinated me.
However, I quit loving art after I studied them. What happened? Art lovers, be prepare, bring one of your favorite pieces and share it to us.
Asking the deceptively simply question: "What makes painting a good work of art?" and quoting Andrew Wyeth as saying, "Some artist think every work they do is a work of art, I say keep working and you may produce a work of art," Brian (BrRice) started a fascinating debate on the Painting Forum. Here are some of the responses on the topic.

“I think that great art either causes a viewer to think or to feel. If it doesn't stir something up they may say ‘That's nice’ and move on, and wouldn't walk 10 steps to look at it again. In my opinion great art can be any style or technique or level of skill, but to qualify as great it has to create a substantial amount of activity in the viewer's mind or heart. Good art can be a matter of good concept or excellent skills in execution, but I think great art touches the mind, heart or soul of the viewer.” -- Michael