10/31(Sat) What is the Spirit of “Open Source” ?(Host:Jerry)

回覆文章
jerryozoz
YOYO member
文章: 61
註冊時間: 週二 8月 06, 2019 2:18 pm

10/31(Sat) What is the Spirit of “Open Source” ?(Host:Jerry)

文章 jerryozoz »

Preface
Hello everyone, I am Jerry. Thank you for reading this article, it's my honor to be a host in YoYo. I prepare this topic that is not easy to understand. I think variety is the characteristic in YoYo club. As an engineer, I hope to introduce some special thing in my working industry. Though the terms in this topic may not make people feel familiar, I would like to try introducing it in more simple way. I think "Open Source" is a term from software industry. But we will focus on it's "Spirit" instead of the technical issue. I think maybe one day this concept may affect different fields and make the world better.

A simple introduction for "Open Source" in software industry is that "Someone create a software project and public the detail of it. It makes other people can freely use it to achieve any goals, or modify the project to different purpose." Some people may recognize "Open Source" as a kind of charitable behavior due to one of famous open source project "Linux, a computer operation system" which is be valued as 16 billions dollar is totally shared on the Internet. Everyone can access it freely, learn from it, even using it to earn money. The mobile Android system is base on Linux and 498 of 500 top super computers are also base on it. The Linux project is distributed in 1991 years from an college student, Linus Torvalds. After about 30 years and much effort from different countries developers, the Linux operation system complete the incomparable achievement. How did it happen!